Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch Institute for Media and Communication Studies Department of Political and Social Science Freie Universität Berlin



Vita

Education

2001	Freie Universität Berlin, Habilitation, Communication Science
1991	University of Mannheim, Ph.D., Political Science
1979-85	University of Mannheim, M.A., Political Science
1983-84	University of California Los Angeles, Political Science, Fulbright Student

Career

Since 4/2024	Senior Professor Institute for Media and Communication Studies, Freie Universität Berlin
Since 2017	Principal Investigator "Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society – The German Internet Institute", Berlin
4-10/2019	Managing Director (interim) "Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society – The German Internet Institute", Berlin
2015-2017 2009-2011	Managing Director of the Institute for Media and Communication Studies, Freie Universität Berlin
Since 2011	Faculty of the Berlin Graduate School of Transnational Studies (BGTS)
2008-2024	Professor for Communication Studies, Communication Theory and Media Effects, Freie Universität Berlin
6/2005	Call for a professorship for Comparative Communication Studies, University of Zurich

2001-2008	Professor for Communication Studies and Media Politics, University of Hohenheim
1994-2001	Senior Researcher, Berlin Science Center for Social Research (WZB), research area "The Public Sphere and Social Movements"
1992-1994	Assistant Professor for Political Science, University of Mannheim, Faculty of Social Sciences
1986-1990	Researcher, University of Mannheim, Political Science and Comparative Social Research, Chair of Prof. Dr. Max Kaase, Faculty of Social Sciences
1977-1979	Editorial traineeship at Schwäbische Zeitung, Leutkirch im Allgäu

Fellowships and Stays Abroad

2022-2024	Visiting Professor Helsinki Institute for Social Sciences and Humanities (HISSH), University of Helsinki
3-7/2018	Lady Davis Visiting Professor, Hebrew University Jerusalem
2012-13	Fellow Stanford University, Stanford, C.A., Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences
2006-07	Visiting Fellow Harvard University, Cambridge, M.A., Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies
1-6/1997	Fellow Harvard University, Cambridge, M.A., Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy
1991-92	Postdoctoral Fellow, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C., Center for German and European Studies

Awards and Honors

2017	ICA Fellow
2010	AcademiaNet – Network of Excellent Female Scholars
1993	German Marshall Fund, Travel Award for Younger German Scholars

Scientific Advisory Boards

Since 2023	Center for Comparative Media and Communication Research (CMC) at
	the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna

Since 2020 Center for Advanced Internet Studies (CAIS), Bochum

Since 2020	Düsseldorf Institute for Internet and Democracy, (DIID), University of Düsseldorf
2019-2021	German National Academy, Leopoldina Halle, Working Group "Digitalization and Democracy"
2019-2022	Leibniz-Institute for Media Research/Hans-Bredow- Institute, Hamburg, Scientific Advisory Council
Since 2017	Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society – The German Internet Institute", Berlin, Scientific Council
2013-2015	Institute of Research Information and Quality, Berlin (iFQ), Board member
2012-2018	DFG, Committee on Scientific Library Services and Information Systems (AWBI) German Science Foundation and Sub-Committee for Scientific Publishing
2012-2016	European Communication Research Education Association (ECREA), Executive Board
2012	Organizer of the Annual Conference of the German Association for Media and Communication Science, "Mediapolis – Communication between boulevard und parliament", in Berlin
2010-2012	Federal Agency for Civic Education, Head of the Scientific Advisory Board
2010-2012	DFG Committee on longitudinal social research, Querschnittsfachkollegium Langfristprogramm"
2008-2012	DFG, Head of the Review Board for Social Sciences of the German Research Foundation
2009-2018	Hans-Bredow-Institute for Media Research, Hamburg , Scientific Advisory Board
2004-2008	DFG, Member of the Review Board for Social Sciences of the German Research Foundation
2004-2010	Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Member of the Senate
2004-2010	Federal Agency for Civic Education, Scientific Advisory Board
2008-2012	College-Research Group (KFG) "The Transformative Power of Europe", Freie Universität Berlin, Board member
2003-2006	IPSA, Head Research Committee 22 "Political Communication", International Political Science Association
2003-2011	ICA and APSA, Joint Publication Committee of Political Communication
2000-2006	DGPuK and DVPW -Head of the joint working group "Politics and Communication"

Selection Committees for Scientific Grants

2023	Nordforsk –Head of Selection Committee for projects in Communication Science
2021	Finnish Academy – Head of Selection Committee for media and communication studies
2023-2025	ICA Steve Chaffee Award Selection Committee
2019	American Political Science Association APSA, Selection Committee Ithiel de Sola Pool Award
2015-2018	Fitz Thyssen Foundation Selection Committee for the best German journal article in Social Sciences
2015-2017	European Research Council – Review Committee for Starting Grants (SH2) The Social World, Diversity, Institutions and Values: Sociology, Political Science, Law, Communication, Education
2014-2016	Finnish Academy – Review Committee for Communication and Media Studies, 2016 Head
2012-2013	ICA, Selection Committee of the Aubrey Fisher Mentorship Award, 2013 Head

Editorial Boards

2021	Journal of Quantitative Description: Digital Media
since 2020	Communication Theory
Since 2014	Journal of Communication
Since 2011	Javnost – The Public
Since 2010	Co-editor of the Book Series "Political Communication and Democratic Public
	Sphere" Nomos Verlag Baden-Baden
Since 2010	International Journal of Press/Politics
Since 2008	Central European Journal of Communication
2007-2008	Journal of Global Mass Communication
Since 1998	Editorial Board Book Series "Communication, Society, and Politics", Cambridge
	University Press
1998-2001	Political Communication